Last update: March 8, 2021

Plenary Speakers

Martin Schell (Fraunhofer Heinrich-Hertz-Institute)

"Heterogeneous Integration for HPC Applications Driven by 5G and AI"
John H. Lau (Unimicron Technology Corporation)
Semiconductor industry has identified five main growth engines (applications), namely mobile, HPC, autonomous vehicle, IoTs, and big data. The system-technology drivers such as 5G and AI are boosting the growths of these 5 applications. Because of the drive of 5G and AI, the HPC semiconductors' speed increases, density increases, pad-pitch decreases, chip-size increases, and power dissipation increases. All these provide challenges (opportunities) to packaging people. One of the advanced packaging technologies is heterogeneous integration (HI), which uses various packaging technologies to integrate dissimilar chips, photonic devices, or components (either side-by-side, stack, or both) with different materials and functions, and from different fabless design houses, foundries, wafer sizes, feature sizes, and companies into a system or subsystem. For the next few years, we will see more of a higher level of HI, whether it is for time-to-market, performance, form factor, power consumption, signal integrity, and/or cost. In this presentation, the HI will be defined and it is classified into 5 categories, namely, HI on organic substrate, HI on TSV-interposer substrate, HI on TSV-less interposer substrate, HI on fan-out RDL-substrate, and HI on ceramic substrate. The trends of HI for HPC driven by 5G and AI will also be discussed.

Roberto Sabella (Ericsson)


EPS Special Speakers

Chris Bailey (University of Greenwich)

Sam Karikalan (Broadcom Inc.)


5G & B5G Special Speakers

Robert Gee (Continental)

Xiaoxiong Gu (IBM)

Takehiro Nakamura (NTT DOCOMO, INC.)


Invited Speakers

Ignazio Piacentini (ficonTEC Service GmbH)
Advanced Packaging:

Katsuya Kikuchi (AIST)

Chen-Chao Wang (ASE)
Process & Material:

Takashi Noma (Murata Manufacturing Co., Ltd.)

Dongshun Bai (Brewer Science, Inc.)
Power & Automotive Electronics:

Toru Ujihara (Nagoya University)

Toshio Ito (Shibaura Institute of Technology)

Agnes Tixier-Mita (The University of Tokyo)

Ki-Hun Jeong (KAIST)
Sensing Technologies:

Masahiro Horibe (AIST)



Back to top page